As I said when I started this just under two weeks ago, there was bound to be changes to the formula during the early stages.

Today marks the first bit of change: There will no longer be pages posted on Saturdays or Sundays. Live Writing will become a Monday to Friday gig.

This change has been brought about by both comments and feedback from the readership, and my own needs as a writer. The benefits are as follows:

Give my readers the weekend to catch up on the adventures in Blackwater and beyond!

Some of you have expressed the inability to carve out that nugget of time to read daily, or that the daily pieces are better read whole come the end of the week.

I understand the lack of time, and tend to agree that the way I’m writing this does create the possibility for a conversation between two characters for example, to stretch across many days. As a reader the thread of the conversation gets lost spread like that.

I could alter the way I’m writing this by ensuring each collection of pages posted is a neat and tidy bundle, but that would defeat the purpose of the exercise on my part as a writer trying to see if I can just squeeze and hour of writing in each day. In some cases I’d have to either cut my creativity short, or extend passed the time my day will allow.

Time for ideas to grow

Allow the character and plot developments of the last week and the threads of thought they’ve created, to mature.

My writer-self has always needed time to mature an idea. Hide it in the dark recesses of my mind and let it grow there like a mushroom.

Not posting over the weekend will allow this process to continue while the Mon to Fri grind will keep the words flowing regularly. A balanced approach.

Hope this doesn’t disappoint too many of you (it bums me out a wee bit to be honest), but I really believe that this will lead to a better overall experience for you and I.

Read me live,

Timm

About timmholmes

Father of two little gentlemen. Author of The Mostly Made Up Adventures of Malcolm & Cooper. Creator/Facilitator of START A STORY Young Writers Workshop. @TimmWrites timmwrites@gmail.com

One response »

  1. Jazz says:

    Hey Timm
    don’t be bummed, I think it really works out! As a reader I like how I have an option of 2 days to catch up if I’ve missed something during the week.
    Keep your dream alive 🙂

Leave a Reply

